PDA

View Full Version : White Smoke and oil usage

Phoenix8204
04-01-2010, 09:55 PM
Hi, my apologies to everyone, I am new to both AstinaGT, as well as to repairing engine (total Noob).

Right, let me give the scenario, I was put into a position where i had to redo the engine. Unfortunatley, due to money constraints :( i was unable to let it be done professionaly, or buy 2nd hand one, so what we did was remove the engine, Honed the sleeves, checked the crank, replaced Big ends as well as Main bearings, new rings, new oil pump, new belts, new gasket set (all engine seals, including head gasket). I had some funds available to do the head skimming, as well as have them check the valve stem seals.

After reassembling the engine and placed back in the car, the car started, but timing was off. We were tinkering with that for a while, got it right, but during this action she started smoking white. She ran for approximately 15 min-1 hour, with no smoke, and all of a sudden smoke started.

We continued to tinker and fix, (there was an oil leak from the pump), up til the point where only the smoke remained.

Does anybody have a theory as to why this could be happening?
If more info is needed please let me know, and i will try to supply as best i can.

Forgot to mention, Mazda astina 97 model, BP engine DOHC.

mikey_something
04-01-2010, 10:02 PM
blue smoke = oil
black smoke = incomplete combustion
white smoke usually means water?
someone confirm that and the likely spot it'd be.

70NYD
04-01-2010, 11:25 PM
white smoke is water mate :(
i was 1st going to suggest condensation in exhaust pipes/catalytic converter, but since it ran fine for a hour prior to smoke im going to have to say most likely a head gasket :(
well i HOPE its the headgasket and that there is no splits within the block/head itself :(
keep us posted :)
welcome to AGT

NaughtyGT
05-01-2010, 05:56 AM