PDA

View Full Version : GB/EOI: ScanGauge II


Mad Mat
25-03-2010, 09:43 AM
hey i'm looking at gettin one of these loverly products and was wondering if anyone else was interested???

ScanGauge II (http://www.scangauge.com.au/)

UPDATE: if we get 5 people interested i can get it 4 $170 each to brisbane, Sunshine and Gold Coast buyers. but everyone else will have postage costs ontop of that.....

bourbon
25-03-2010, 10:13 AM
i would but i cant use it properly in the mini suposebdly... i need BMW software to do this sort of stuff...

Mad Mat
25-03-2010, 10:22 AM
updated original post :)

bourbon
25-03-2010, 10:23 AM
you can buy these on ebay for about $180 + postage...

Orion
25-03-2010, 10:25 AM
You can buy them on eBay for $189.00 plus postage.

What Mat was trying to say was that for 5 orders to a single address, they are $170 each and NO postage. If they went to different addresses then it is $170 PLUS postage.

Cheers.

Mad Mat
25-03-2010, 10:26 AM
actually it 189.00 plus $10 postage.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ScanGauge-II-Version-3-17-with-X-Guage_W0QQitemZ250592487303QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_C ar_Parts_Accessories?hash=item3a5879e787

Mad Mat
25-03-2010, 10:27 AM
You can buy them on eBay for $189.00 plus postage.

What Mat was trying to say was that for 5 orders to a single address, they are $170 each and NO postage. If they went to different addresses then it is $170 PLUS postage.

Cheers.

woops i though it said with freight lol :p my bad.

marcs_sp20
25-03-2010, 10:30 AM
1. Mad Mat (organiser)
2. Orion
3. marcs_sp20

Mad Mat
25-03-2010, 10:37 AM
yay marc :D u at home today buddy???

PHILL WHERE ARE U. lol

marcs_sp20
25-03-2010, 10:40 AM
yay marc :D u at home today buddy???

PHILL WHERE ARE U. lol

yeah mate, still no good :(

bourbon
25-03-2010, 10:44 AM
also mat, youll wanna check there compatable to your car...normally cars before 03 were just OBD not OBDII...

the scanguage site doesnt say the astina/protege/323 or lasers are compatible...

Orion
25-03-2010, 10:57 AM
also mat, youll wanna check there compatable to your car...normally cars before 03 were just OBD not OBDII...

the scanguage site doesnt say the astina/protege/323 or lasers are compatible...

I have physically checked that ScanGauge II are compatible with my SP20.

The company doesn't list what cars they are compatible with because they do not test them themselves and reply on the purchaser to provide feedback as to whether they work or not.

Brisbane_boy
25-03-2010, 11:06 AM
whats the advantage of this?

Orion
25-03-2010, 11:22 AM
whats the advantage of this?

Have you clicked the link in the first post?

Clean_Cookie
25-03-2010, 11:25 AM
whats the advantage of this?
just more info available to you in an all in one setup i guess.

fancy, tells you instantanous KW and whatnot...

phildough
25-03-2010, 11:45 AM
I amd trying to find out if my car is OBD I or OBD II.
So far I have not been able to clarify it.

bourbon
25-03-2010, 11:49 AM
also just cause a car has a OBDII port doesnt mean it will work in it...the mini has it but doesnt work on it...only models that are from 05- do...which is stupid but it suposebdly in the ecu that stops something from working...

Orion
25-03-2010, 12:00 PM
Any units bought that don't end up working in a particular car can be sent back to the supplier for a refund of the purchase price minus a 10% restocking fee.

Although you should be the same as us Phil. OBD-I and OBD-II are generally divided up region (USDM, JDM EDM etc) not by model - at least for the BJ Mazda's.

Mad Mat
25-03-2010, 12:01 PM
Any units bought that don't end up working in a particular car can be sent back to the supplier for a refund of the purchase price minus a 10% restocking fee.

thats correct. :D

phildough
25-03-2010, 12:10 PM
Well we found out on saturday there is a major difference between the Sp's and non sp's with the ability to program new keys into the system.

And Gav seems to think his old BJ was a OBD I.

But if there is only a 10% restocking fee if it doesn't work then count me in.

Mad Mat
25-03-2010, 12:13 PM
cool :D so its

1. Mad Mat (organiser)
2. Orion
3. marcs_sp20
4. Phill
5.

Orion
25-03-2010, 12:13 PM
Well we found out on saturday there is a major difference between the Sp's and non sp's with the ability to program new keys into the system.

And Gav seems to think his old BJ was a OBD I.

But if there is only a 10% restocking fee if it doesn't work then count me in.

Pretty sure that all AUDM's are OBD-I (as they are JDM delivered vehicles)and USDM are OBD-II.

Anyway, another one on the list. Just need one more Brisbane-ite and discount and free shipping is ours :D

Brisbane_boy
25-03-2010, 01:38 PM
just a question what do these mean?
Open/Closed Loop
Manifold Pressure

what do they tell u about the cars performance

chicaboo
25-03-2010, 06:27 PM
It's been a long time, but I have in my head that the BJ 1.8 is OBDI and the SP20 is OBDII. Which would be why I never ever bought one for either of my 2 BJs [and I really watned one!]... Also, IIRC, There's no difference between the BJI, BJII and J48 diagnostic port.

Duncan, you'd be taking a big chance if you bought this for your car. I only know one person who has one of these, so it's not like you can just go ask and test your car to see if it works. :(

Gav.

Brisbane_boy
25-03-2010, 06:53 PM
It's been a long time, but I have in my head that the BJ 1.8 is OBDI and the SP20 is OBDII. Which would be why I never ever bought one for either of my 2 BJs [and I really watned one!]... Also, IIRC, There's no difference between the BJI, BJII and J48 diagnostic port.

Duncan, you'd be taking a big chance if you bought this for your car. I only know one person who has one of these, so it's not like you can just go ask and test your car to see if it works. :(

Gav.

thanks for the honestly gav.
I might stick to my rice until i get my opens.

phildough
26-03-2010, 12:53 AM
I have a list of all the fault codes for my car and have just compared them to the OBD-ii fault code list and they are the same codes.
Which kinda makes me think they could be obd-ii.
Im not sure but there is a way to find out. I will try and look tomorrow.

Mad Mat
26-03-2010, 09:46 AM
ok guys i'm doin the deal. i have had a very nice talk to matthew at scan gauge and he is willing to do it for 4 unikts :D so pay up biatches :D

phildough
26-03-2010, 01:45 PM
Ok I have just had a nice chat with the helpful guys at Mazda technical support.

The good news is that limited functions on the Scan Gauge will work on SP20's as they have an OBD-II connector.
As far as the 1.8 and 1.6's are concerned they were never fitted with the OBD-II connector.

Boo Hoo.
I wanted one.

Mad Mat
30-03-2010, 11:56 AM
all units have been paid 4 and sold. :) will be ariving earliest this thursday... can't wait to see what there like :D

zappy65
03-04-2010, 12:17 PM
I amd trying to find out if my car is OBD I or OBD II.
So far I have not been able to clarify it.

Your car is OBD I

EDIT: Just saw the above post...

70NYD
03-04-2010, 02:26 PM
ther are obd1 to obd2 adapters available to purchase for honda, i dont c y there wouldnt be one for mazda as well ;)
il c if i can dig something up

Mad Mat
03-04-2010, 05:09 PM
cool tony :D that will make people very happy to here that :D

70NYD
03-04-2010, 06:12 PM
oh yeah i forgot to post it here lol
i didnt find any universal ones but i found the honda ones so that doesnt help
ALDL cable refferences kept popping up (assembly line diagnostincs lead or something) and from what i understand this is what OBD1 refferes to but this is not universal (AFAIK) i havernt been able to track down any OBD1 for mazda yet

phildough
03-04-2010, 06:30 PM
From what I have found the fault codes displayed by my car are the same as OBD-II codes but my car has a OBD connector.

70NYD
03-04-2010, 06:41 PM
ok so the OBD 1 (ALDL) is a 12 pin setup while the OBD2 (J1962) is a 16 pin setup..
i let u peeps know if i find a interface between the 2
BUT im sure that it wouldn b hard to find what the pinout is for the mazda 12pin aldl and make up jumpers to go to the 16 pin obd2 (since it is very standard)

70NYD
03-04-2010, 06:45 PM
problem for my research is that i dont know what the mazda OBD 1 connection looks like lol

phildough
03-04-2010, 07:14 PM
problem for my research is that i dont know what the mazda OBD 1 connection looks like lol

This is what I think is my OBD connector.
Its the only loose plug I can find within reach of the drivers seat and it hangs underneath the dash
Hopefully this helps.
I can give you the colour coding if needed.

http://i629.photobucket.com/albums/uu15/phildough_photos/100_5467.jpg

chicaboo
03-04-2010, 07:32 PM
Phil, if that is the same as the diagnostic port in the engine bay, then it is the OBD port. If not, it's one of those erroneous Mazda plugs you find everywhere.

Cosmo Dude
03-04-2010, 08:01 PM
OBD plugs, I and II, should be within reach when sitting in the drivers seat and not need tools to access.
P.S. 7ONYD spell out your ****ing words or I'll shove Rodger Cordia up your ****ing nose and pull him out your a$$.

chicaboo
03-04-2010, 08:24 PM
The BJ doesn't have a hard-mounted OBD port in the same location as the SP20. So it could be the loose white plug Phil photographed, but he would need to check it against the diagnostic port in the engine bay to be sure.

marcs_sp20
03-04-2010, 08:48 PM
and to confuse things even more, I have that same plug phil refers to that is just dangling near the centre dash peice :eek:

The OBDII port in the SP20 is behind the bonnet pull ;)

Orion
03-04-2010, 09:25 PM
I dont think that the plug in Phils picture is OBD as I dont think that there are enough pins.

My upgraded factory alarm module sits around that area so it might be a spare plug for that :confused:

chicaboo
03-04-2010, 09:31 PM
If it's for the factory alarm, Matt would know, 'cause I think he fitted his alarm himself.
From memory, the plug Phil showed looks a lot like it would fit into the alarm module.

Gav.

phildough
03-04-2010, 11:38 PM
Well it looks like I wont be getting a scan gauge then. :-(

marcs_sp20
04-04-2010, 12:12 AM
Yeah it does suck the other model BJ's miss out, you would think they'd all have it, but thats mazda for ya :(

Mad Mat
04-04-2010, 10:38 AM
http://i629.photobucket.com/albums/uu15/phildough_photos/100_5467.jpg

wtf is that lol thats ur alarm harness u d1ck lol

If it's for the factory alarm, Matt would know, 'cause I think he fitted his alarm himself.
From memory, the plug Phil showed looks a lot like it would fit into the alarm module.

Gav.

and yes ur correct again gav. :D now i win prize.

its the BLack plug under ur dash about 100 mm from the fuse box and not that deep in the car. its nearly lever with the bottom of the dash.

marc wtf i want a peddo bear :(

chicaboo
04-04-2010, 10:46 AM
its the BLack plug under ur dash about 100 mm from the fuse box and not that deep in the car. its nearly lever with the bottom of the dash.The 1.8 doesn't have that, you sick duck. :p

mynameisdaniel
04-04-2010, 07:16 PM
Is installing an alarm using that plug just something you simply plug in or is there more to it?

marcs_sp20
04-04-2010, 07:44 PM
Basically its a plug for the hi-spec mazda alarm...

chicaboo
04-04-2010, 07:44 PM
More to it, you have to remove the a [and b?] pillar trim to run the cabling and drill a hole in the dash for the system indicator light.

mynameisdaniel
04-04-2010, 10:53 PM
ahhk something i can install myself or not?, is there somewhere i can get more information about this alarm? like what activates it etc? cost? Never feel safe leaving my car parked somewhere even though it has an immobilizer lol.

chicaboo
05-04-2010, 01:33 AM
If you feel comfortable doing the things I mentioned, then yes. My local Mazda dealer sell/install these for $350 to suit the BJ.

Otherwise, steering wheel locks and window tinting [below the sill] are effective, ie: can't break the glass or turn the steering wheel.

If they really want to get into your car, they will prior a door open in any case, so don't leave valuable things on display.

Gav.

Pedroscash1054
11-04-2011, 06:35 PM
Has anyone installed one of the Scangauges in there SP20 yet?

marcs_sp20
11-04-2011, 06:41 PM
Myself & Orion currently run them - what do you want to know?

A.E
11-04-2011, 06:55 PM
I want to know if that plug is really for the alarm cause I have one sitting in my garage lol

Orion
11-04-2011, 11:17 PM
The plug is not for the alarm :p

The plug connects to the OBD port under the dash (above the fusebox). The OBD port provides all the information from the engine for the Scangauge to display :)