PDA

View Full Version : MAZDA SP20 caster problem

Jez4
08-08-2013, 11:42 AM
hi, im a newbie here :) btw i just wanna ask, my car is pulling to the left when running (when i dont hold my steering wheel ) i just had an alignment today and they said something about my front caster slightly out or engine mount problems, bought the car 3 months ago and it was ok(except for the rear wheel bearing),. and in that 3 months ive never hit anything., how much does fixing the caster cost?

thanks!!!

phunkdust
08-08-2013, 11:50 AM
Depends on the age of the car, the bushes in the suspension are likely to be well worn by now. Engine mounts do wear out also and if they haven't been changed yet then the forward mount and gearbox mount are probably due. Have any trouble shifting?

Caster probably isn't as big of an issue as camber and toe, which are gonna tear up your tyres quickly. You want to check with the place who did your alignment why they couldn't get it in spec (bushes too worn?)

project.r.racing
08-08-2013, 11:57 AM
costings will depend on the solution to fix. and the solution to fix depends on the faulty part.

what part is faulty?

Jez4
08-08-2013, 12:07 PM
Depends on the age of the car, the bushes in the suspension are likely to be well worn by now. Engine mounts do wear out also and if they haven't been changed yet then the forward mount and gearbox mount are probably due. Have any trouble shifting?

Caster probably isn't as big of an issue as camber and toe, which are gonna tear up your tyres quickly. You want to check with the place who did your alignment why they couldn't get it in spec (bushes too worn?)

my car is a 2002 sp20 and it only had 100ks in it., and no trouble at shifting at all ., my caster value is LH +01`32 RH+02`21.,

Jez4
08-08-2013, 12:08 PM
costings will depend on the solution to fix. and the solution to fix depends on the faulty part.

what part is faulty?

they said camber or engine mount., (bob jane bankstown)

project.r.racing