View Full Version : Virus warning - email from forum member....
mrpayner
29-06-2003, 11:51 AM
Hi fellas,
I would like to advise ppl of this forum of a virus warning... I received an infected email from shmulik with an attachment named HPIM0165.AVI.zip that is infected with the W32/Yaha.q@MM virus.......
Please check that your virus updates are current and working properly. I received this to my bigpond account [on which there is no virus scanner] but before opening the attachment I sent it to my hotmail account to get the scan done... BINGO!! Virus!
I will be buying Norton Antivirus today me thinks!
And to shmulik, please virus scan your computer...even if you didn't actually send it the virus may be an automated one..
Regards
Adam
MrShadow
29-06-2003, 12:16 PM
And to shmulik, please virus scan your computer...even if you didn't actually send it the virus may be an automated one
Actually, it may not even have come from shmulik. Some viriuses (virri?) actually 'spoof' the sender field. SO it may have come from ANYBODY who has shumliks email address in their address book (oh, and MrPayners email address). I suggest everybody who has shmuliks and MrPayners email address added to their address book scan their computers using the latest virus defs.
Edit: Just noticed, 1000th post. yay, 1000 useless, boring, mis-informed, badly typed, incorrectly spelled posts!
mrpayner
29-06-2003, 12:20 PM
Some viriuses (virri?) actually 'spoof' the sender field.
Edit: Just noticed, 1000th post. yay, 1000 useless, boring, mis-informed, badly typed, incorrectly spelled posts!
Too true!! I had fogotten about that...
I must point out as well that i did have Norton 2001 but alas it ain't working on XP for me... :(
Congrats on the 1G of posting too Shads! :lol:
Adam
MrShadow
29-06-2003, 12:35 PM
I think you need NAV 2002 or 2003 to work on XP.
And thanks, hadn't noticed till I was looking at my avatar wondering what I should change it too next.
MrShadow
29-06-2003, 12:50 PM
Oh, guess what, I also had an email 'from shmulik' in my inbox. Luckily for me, I use Yahoo! Mail for these boards.
mrpayner
29-06-2003, 03:32 PM
You know what? It could even be one of our administrators as they would have all the email address' wouldn't they?? I only just thought about it...
Tony, Dan....check your PC's guys! Hah!
I went and bought NAV2003 at Hardly Normal as they were having a sale.. $74 down from $99.... Not too bad..
Adam
Cosmo Dude
29-06-2003, 06:34 PM
I got it Yesterday from an MX6.com member and today pretanding to be Shmulik.
Vet caught it, this is my internet condom :lol:
Rod
Pernod
29-06-2003, 06:47 PM
if its a zip file, then I got it today.
There cant be many of you with me in you address book so have a check and see if you've got it.
Cosmo Dude
29-06-2003, 08:12 PM
Come to think of it, the Mx-6 chap sent it to an address I don't advertise from an address I don't recognise.
Lantis, can you look into this ;)
Rupewrecht
30-06-2003, 02:45 PM
You know what? It could even be one of our administrators as they would have all the email address' wouldn't they?? I only just thought about it...
nah, i dont. not in the email account it got sent to.
Tony, Dan....check your PC's guys! Hah!
PC...pfft. I use a MAC, and they are rarely affected by all thses PC viruses. :P and i didnt check that account until today...so wasn't me!
macs just fail to work full stop... :)
BigBoyLemonade
30-06-2003, 04:22 PM
this whole site was made on a mac! so suck me sideways! :P :lol: :D 8)
Toyboy
30-06-2003, 05:21 PM
ROFL youd love that tony :P But youd have to get permission of jims lover first :lol:
mrpayner
30-06-2003, 05:53 PM
MAC's are what you buy from McDonalds in the BIG varity!
I stand corrected.. :lol:
Adam
BigBoyLemonade
30-06-2003, 05:55 PM
**** you all!
Go have Mc****ingCry somewhere else McDickheads!
mrpayner
30-06-2003, 05:56 PM
ROFLMAO!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Adam
Rupewrecht
30-06-2003, 06:02 PM
yeah, what Hamburgler said!
MrShadow
30-06-2003, 06:44 PM
ROFLMAO :lol: :lol: :lol:
To quote a line from a classic movie:
Stop it, you're giving me a McStitch... :lol: :lol:
Cosmo Dude
30-06-2003, 07:50 PM
Hey guys,
Please there is something bad out there. I don't care were it is from or what your OS is.
I don't have enough info to point any fingers but I don't believe that Street Racer has access to the e-mail address that I gave to AstinaGT?
There are some f'n p@#$ks out there who attempt to overcome these obsticles.
Come down off your egos.
StreetRacer
01-07-2003, 04:43 AM
hm...
intersting! i'm reciving e-mail's everyday from shmulik.
and i'm shmulik (i'm sending to my self ? ? :o :o ), so how come ?
hm... i will install NAV and use it.
shmulik .
Well if you havent noticed, all the email addresses are freely available under the Memberlist option. Any person with a little coding experience could easily harvest the addresses off the site.
The virus contains a DOS agent so I would say a script kiddie is attempting to increase his clone army in the hope of being cool. If anyone is infected with the virus, can you check the following registry key and see what site they are attempting to attack.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Snakes
Under that is a value called web which is the target web address.
I doubt its actually coming from Smulik as email worms rarely email back to the point of origin.
Aaron
01-07-2003, 01:22 PM
As a step back to the protection thing....
Buying an Antivirus solution is best - but there are plenty of good free ones out there. AVG seems to get a good solid nod (Part of my job is managing Anti-Virus strategy throughout our organisation) for personal use in its free form and the definition files are updated often enough for it to be effectinve.
That's the thing, any anti-virus management is worthless if you don't update the definitions often (weekly at minimum), auto updates are much better if you can ;)
A.
mrpayner
01-07-2003, 02:00 PM
I can't remember what the previous subject line was but there was a new one today.. "I'm in love" infected with another virus contained in a ZIP file.
I would say a script kiddie is attempting to increase his clone army in the hope of being cool
Could be Sandy getting back at us! Hahah, kidding mate! :lol:
Adam
Sandyman
03-07-2003, 12:25 PM
just don't go underestimating me :twisted: . no, i didn't do it. thats not my style(not to mention I can't program viruses). I think that I was sent the virus a couple of days ago. It's name may have been changed. It was called "W32/Nimda@MM", but in an attachment called 'sample'. and no, i didn't download it. how stupid do you think i am?
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.