Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Performance & General Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-12-2009, 03:29 PM   #1
Drakh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Car: Black Lantis BA 2.5L KLZE
Posts: 92
Klze issues

Hi Guys

I'm in need of a little advice

I dropped a klze in2 my lantis a couple months ago and i have been enjoying the car with the extra power I now have,
BUT....
1. I'm running it with the kf33 ecu and standard ( cant remember the code) air flow meter. Thus, I do not have full potentail of the car, and
2. Shes jerky as hell.you really have to go easy with the accelerator/cluch combo if u don't want to do bunny hops in car parks. just too touchy.

Also- to top it off I let my brother use my car for a couple days while I got a WOF for his- and when I got her back she was is a sick state- ( my CAI intake needs to be disconnected in the rain and I mentioned this to him which he "forgot", so rain water in the intake, sigh)

I've replaced the sparkplugs and this has helped my car, but shes still not right- still hunts a little bit when u take your foot of the accelerator- not as bad as before but its still there.

Anyways- question is- how can I make it more stable and less jerky??
Any easy tricks?? I've been considering removing my aftermarket fuel pressure regulator and placing back the standard klze one....

Probably the only proper option is to get a piggy back system or megasquirt or another ecu, or pehaps splicing the wiring loom and using a kl31/36 ecu (thats the right one right?) tho as far as I am to believe that would only effectively change the vris points and not so much how the engine runs.... because I experience the jerkyness well before the vris opens up- tho I do feel the lag where they should be opening up when I floor it

anyway- i feel I've ranted for long enough. please tell me what u think
Drakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 18-12-2009, 03:35 PM   #2
NaughtyGT
Senior Member
 
NaughtyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baxter, VIC
Car: Sooby B4 - Astina SP parting out
Posts: 2,447
that's the correct ZE ECU's. There no different to each other. The 36 was for ATX, the 31 for MTX. You shouldn't have to splice the loom buddy unless the ECU female plug/s are different tpe? Just get the ECU & it will run bit better. There designed for the bigger port IM & 31 Cams

The jerking I wouldn't think is related to the stock ECU. I ran my MX6 ZE with stock ECU. Thwy will work fine if you have to.
__________________
My Shepherds in the Avatar haha

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace" - Jimi Hendrix
NaughtyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 03:42 PM   #3
Drakh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Car: Black Lantis BA 2.5L KLZE
Posts: 92
On the 323f forums I was lead to believe a kl31/36 ecu wouldnt fit the standard wiring harness of the lantis. though I can't prove this because I haven't tried its just that alot of people have said this to me thru the forums.
Otherwise i'm gonna buy one asap and get my extra 15/20 hp !!!!!
Drakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 03:46 PM   #4
NaughtyGT
Senior Member
 
NaughtyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baxter, VIC
Car: Sooby B4 - Astina SP parting out
Posts: 2,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakh View Post
On the 323f forums I was lead to believe a kl31/36 ecu wouldnt fit the standard wiring harness of the lantis. though I can't prove this because I haven't tried its just that alot of people have said this to me thru the forums.
Otherwise i'm gonna buy one asap and get my extra 15/20 hp !!!!!
there probably right. I don't know Lantis's but, although the ZE ECU will fuel map better & allow correct torque curve etc, the stock ECU, if it was already for a 2.5L, will still run OK. I ran my MX6 ZE on the DE ECU for ages. Still had the powerband after 4500rpm
__________________
My Shepherds in the Avatar haha

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace" - Jimi Hendrix
NaughtyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 03:58 PM   #5
Drakh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Car: Black Lantis BA 2.5L KLZE
Posts: 92
Haha- theres the problem then- my kf33 ecu is for the 2.0 kfze. lantis never had 2.5 v6's, ze or de. thus why i'm encountering the minor issues. and the likely incompatabilty between ecu's.

And just for the record- its not too bad to drive- its just I would like my car to accomodate my driving, not me who has to drive to accomodate for my car. Seriously from a standstill, plant your foot and who knows what could happen- could maybe shred some rubber or alternatively could bunny hop ur teeth loose
Drakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 04:18 PM   #6
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
The KF33 Lantis ECU is the same for both auto and manual and unlike the Mx-6 it uses a hotwire MAF sensor not a VAF sensor. I'd start by checking ECU codes and maybe put it on a dyno, it may just need a little tuning.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 06:42 PM   #7
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
I've just dug up a JDM KL47 'TA5P Millenia' hotwire MAF and while it's not a substitute it has an internal diamater of 68mm. What is the internal diamater of your MAF?
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT