Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Performance & General Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2011, 03:28 PM   #101
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Well the car is pretty much ready. They just need to run it on the Dyno. so I won't be able to get it til Monday. So O2 Temp sensor and Idle Control Valve. Unless they pick something else up on the Dyno.
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 04:09 PM   #102
Spykey
AstinaGT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: From Melbourne - In Sydney Now
Car: Mazda 323 SP20 TURBO
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabz_Rox View Post
Well the car is pretty much ready. They just need to run it on the Dyno. so I won't be able to get it til Monday. So O2 Temp sensor and Idle Control Valve. Unless they pick something else up on the Dyno.
good to hear mate,
by the way are you getting the engine registered with vicroad?
Spykey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 04:12 PM   #103
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Gonna have to. Which could be an issue with my oversized exhaust and pod filter.
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 05:14 PM   #104
Ice88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Auchenflower, Brisbane
Car: Blue SP20
Posts: 2,782
Just stick stock back on register it then swap?
__________________
Ice88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 06:16 PM   #105
Spykey
AstinaGT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: From Melbourne - In Sydney Now
Car: Mazda 323 SP20 TURBO
Posts: 331
pod filter is legal as long as its enclosed in a box i think..

the exhaust might be a problem, but it you still have the stock one, just chunk it it just for that day..
Spykey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:13 PM   #106
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
I've got the exhaust bit so that's cool. The pod but I've chucked the old box etc. So may be shagged on that one.
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 08:56 PM   #107
luk3333
Junior Member
 
luk3333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Coast
Car: Mazda 323 Astina '02
Posts: 220
Just read all 6 pages of this thread and loved it. Had me worried about my own pod install for a second... Was it worth it for all 6 of those killawasps?
luk3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:06 PM   #108
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Will let you know when I finally pick up the car. I still think this will be a better motor for turboing. So may be! Buzz, buzz!!!

Last edited by Rabz_Rox; 08-10-2011 at 09:07 PM. Reason: Missed a word!!
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 10:11 PM   #109
Ice88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Auchenflower, Brisbane
Car: Blue SP20
Posts: 2,782
There not really any logic behind that, the rods are just as weak AFAIK. In fact the FP is better then the FS in some aspects for turboing
__________________
Ice88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 10:52 PM   #110
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Is that because the FP is a destroked FS?
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 11:57 PM   #111
Ice88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Auchenflower, Brisbane
Car: Blue SP20
Posts: 2,782
Compression and cams
__________________
Ice88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:39 AM   #112
luk3333
Junior Member
 
luk3333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Coast
Car: Mazda 323 Astina '02
Posts: 220
You could swap the cams couldn't you? Or would that just cause another saga
luk3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 10:41 AM   #113
Orion
SP20 Member!
 
Orion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Car: Mazda SP20 sedan
Posts: 1,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabz_Rox View Post
Is that because the FP is a destroked FS?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice88 View Post
Compression and cams
Compression is the same.

Cam in the FP are a little bit more agressive, so they would help.

Rods are the same between them, but the narrower (not sure how to decribe it) crank on the FP would suit turbo better
__________________

Exhaust: Autoexe headers; Custom midpipe; Racing Beat catback
Engine: AWR mounts; Twiggy cams; Custom CAI; RR Racing UDP; Mishimoto rad
EMS: Microtech LT-10; J&S Safeguard;
Gearbox: MSP LSD; Fidanza flywheel; 5th gear
Rims/Suspension: MX-5 rims; Tokico Illuminas; Eibach Pro-kit; Progress RSB; AutoExe STB
Exterior: MSP front lip & rear spoiler; Matt V headlights; AutoExe grill; EDM tails
Interior: JVC AVX-77; Autometer gauges; DaveBs; B&M shifter
Projects to come: Engine rebuild
Orion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 11:22 AM   #114
TheMAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Car: .
Posts: 2,622
Actually, that is not what I got from Mazda:
http://www.protegefaq.net/mods_engine.html#FP_manual
http://www.protegefaq.net/engine.html#FP-DE
http://www.protegefaq.net/engine.html#FS-DE

Information are accurate. They were taken from US, Japan, and Europe service manuals and parts catalogues. As you can see, the FS-ZE cams have more duration and lift than the FP-DE cams. The only thing that makes the FP-DE cams "better" is the exhaust cam which has advanced timing to give more overlap compared to the FS-DE/FS-ZE cams (except when the Mazdaspeed one is used). When using the FP-DE exhaust cam in an Euro/Aussie FS-DE or JDM FS-ZE (while still retaining the FSH9 intake cam), the overlap is a decent 4 degrees increase. The FP-DE pistons are the same as your Aussie/Europe FS-DE pistons, but the resulting compression are not the same. Obviously crankshaft is different but so are the rods. The FP-DE rods are much stronger but neither the FP-DE crankshaft nor the rods can be used in the FS block because the deck height is taller and the pistons will never reach the top!

Last edited by TheMAN; 13-10-2011 at 03:41 PM.
TheMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:26 PM   #115
Spykey
AstinaGT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: From Melbourne - In Sydney Now
Car: Mazda 323 SP20 TURBO
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabz_Rox View Post
Will let you know when I finally pick up the car. I still think this will be a better motor for turboing. So may be! Buzz, buzz!!!
Don't worry am running a healthy 11 psi on my FSDE, so you can..

Only reason why i'll not recommend you to turbocharge it is because its an AUTO lol..
Spykey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 05:22 PM   #116
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Don't go picking on the Auto. It kicks ass when you're hungover and keep forgetting to put your foot on the clutch at lights!!!
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 05:28 PM   #117
phildough
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brisneyland, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Frankenstina
Posts: 2,868
More importantly
Does it live???
phildough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 06:06 PM   #118
Spykey
AstinaGT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: From Melbourne - In Sydney Now
Car: Mazda 323 SP20 TURBO
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabz_Rox View Post
Don't go picking on the Auto. It kicks ass when you're hungover and keep forgetting to put your foot on the clutch at lights!!!
haha good one mate..
by the way, did u end up getting the car today?
Spykey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 06:48 PM   #119
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Car is still not ready. They have had it up on the Dyno. Everythings good mixture wise. Just still having issues with the idle air valve. Will replace it tomorrow. Think they must have only cleaned it before. But it's not allowing the car to warm up fast enough. Revs are staying too low on morning start.
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:43 PM   #120
Ice88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Auchenflower, Brisbane
Car: Blue SP20
Posts: 2,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spykey View Post
Don't worry am running a healthy 11 psi on my FSDE, so you can..

Only reason why i'll not recommend you to turbocharge it is because its an AUTO lol..
Not for long on stock compression.
__________________
Ice88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
323, engine, mazda, rebuilt, turbo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT