Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2006, 09:52 PM   #41
mike_d87
AstinaGT Regular
 
mike_d87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Newcastle
Car: Astina
Posts: 481
sweet! so when i put the bpt in i just put the stock ecu in, drive over to ur place and u will be able to put the lt10 straight in?
mike_d87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 04:59 PM   #42
ROB-80E
Senior Member
 
ROB-80E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SE QLD, Australia
Car: Turbo BG Astina
Posts: 792
Send a message via ICQ to ROB-80E Send a message via MSN to ROB-80E
Yep. Well not stright in, there's a bit to do, but can knock it over in a day.
__________________
BG Astina + GTR conversion + Microtech ECU + FMIC + 3" pipes and Exhaust x 21psi boost = 12.168 to the power of 326whp
ROB-80E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 03:52 PM   #43
Exodus323
AstinaGT Regular
 
Exodus323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Western Australia
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 299
Send a message via MSN to Exodus323
That link of jynxs is still down.
I know what i have to do for my conversion but it wouldl still be nice to read about what excatly he did to make his old car happen.
__________________
Peace Out (^_^)|| Paul
Exodus323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 01:24 AM   #44
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exodus323
That link of jynxs is still down.
I know what i have to do for my conversion but it wouldl still be nice to read about what excatly he did to make his old car happen.
That boat sank years ago never to be seen again.
His website was just some pictures anyway which I have all downloaded
somewhere if you really need them. It wasnt an indepth website like eg. Robs
showing all the progress mods etc. Guess that means you will just have to
go back to bugging me with all your questions same as always
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!

Last edited by BigMal; 15-04-2006 at 11:40 PM.
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2006, 03:53 AM   #45
Chi_Lantis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
Hi there im new to this forum and just wanted to know where can i source a GTR clutch from? you speak of the Daiken Clutch so i emailed them and they have returned an email telling me they have none.

any links to where i can get them or contacts are aprecceiated

thanks
Chi_Lantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2006, 03:54 AM   #46
Chi_Lantis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
sorry i forgot to mention that im undertaking an engine swap currently to the GTR in a BA 323F.
Chi_Lantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2006, 10:35 AM   #47
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
323F = Non Australian correct ???
There is a sticky about clutches under performance.

Basically the guys are providing a standard daikin upgrade kit (full face organic plate with ~400kg pressure plate) and replacing the diaphram spring with a HD item from i believe a holden of some description which will give the pressure plate a clamp load of about 1900pounds (~800kg). Cost is about $370 delivered to the door.

"If you were to run 800kg of clamp pressure your clutch should be capable of holding approx 225 kw at the flyheel @5000rpms or 320 ft lb of torque.Cost of a full faced organic kit with 800kg of clamp would cost $315 inc gst+ freight"

So what that means is that either Daiken Aus or the local clutch shop have swapped out the springs on the clutch to give it an increased clamping pressure. I know Daiken Aus do custom stuff as I got directly a modified clutch which had 2 steel backing plates added to the clutch plate and a matched machined pressure plate for extra strength.

What you can get over there dont know you would have to ask around about who can change over the springs for you.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!

Last edited by BigMal; 19-04-2006 at 10:39 AM.
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2006, 08:50 PM   #48
Chi_Lantis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
hey thanks for the reply!

So would it not be possible for them to make me the clutch ready and i could pay them to get it delivered to my house?
If not then i might just order the $370 one instead can you give me the link to how i can purchase the clutch.

Cheers
Chi_Lantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2006, 09:52 PM   #49
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Have a look at the sticky under performance its in there like I said.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 09:56 PM   #50
Jerry323
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: sydney
Car: astina
Posts: 64
does the BPT motor use the same engine mounts as the standard BP motor, and what gearbox would u recomend if i was to get the conversion
Jerry323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:58 AM   #51
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
1. Yes
2. The one thats in your car
3. The answers are all there if you read the strings.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 07:34 PM   #52
MeFo
AstinaGT Regular
 
MeFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ballarat
Car: Astina GT
Posts: 355
Guys,

I'm looking at getting a GTX engine within the next month but I'm wondering whether I'll need to get the loom with it?

I've already got a MT ECU waiting to be installed and am looking at doing that at the same time as the engine install. Am I able to use my current loom?

Also, when I got the ECU it came with a map for an N/A BP. Will I have to get it remapped or can this be altered when it goes on a dyno?

Cheers,
Ryan.
__________________
MeFo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006, 08:34 AM   #53
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,927
you'll only need the engine + turbo. no ecu or loom. (for personal reasons i don't use MTs no more. haltech or wolf are the way to go now with the current models available out there.)

MT ecu might have to be sent back to MT at a cost of $300 to have the base map re-installed for BPT.

or if you have a really good tuner, then you might be able to adjust that map to suit the extra fuel above 3250rpm while on positive pressure. plus a few other things too. but only recommended if the tuner knows what he is doing otherwise the engine will be farked in 10-15,000km.

ryan

Last edited by project.r.racing; 23-10-2006 at 09:06 AM.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006, 08:56 AM   #54
twilightprotege
Driving a faster car now!
 
twilightprotege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Work, always at bloody work...
Car: Lotus ....... .
Posts: 5,217
nice way to scare mefo there ryan.

the MT does NOT need to be sent back to MT. the BP map and the BPT maps are the same, all that needs to happen is the ems retuned. simple.

also, why is your reason (which i dont understand) a reason for not using MT's? are you saying you want to plug and play ems's in?
twilightprotege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006, 08:59 AM   #55
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by twilightprotege
nice way to scare mefo there ryan.
hence why i used the word "might."

ryan.

Last edited by project.r.racing; 25-10-2006 at 04:58 PM.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006, 09:24 AM   #56
twilightprotege
Driving a faster car now!
 
twilightprotege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Work, always at bloody work...
Car: Lotus ....... .
Posts: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by deejayryry
not handling power issues in race cars
personal choice obviously, but PAC, Dyson, Online, the Peurto Ricon insanity cars just to name a few dont seam to have any issues under race conditions.


on the topic of bp-->bpt, MT ems's are a straight swap over unit, just requiring a retune
twilightprotege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2006, 07:51 AM   #57
firstcar-ONLYdream
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: south east brisbane
Posts: 3
can someone perhaps tell me the completed price of the turbo conversion, that makes around 150 170 kw. Also, what i would need to accomplish that goal. Don't include suspension and brakes, they are a given... cheers
firstcar-ONLYdream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2006, 10:44 AM   #58
bourbon
The Hairy Mod
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: southside ya'll and North Side, Brissy
Car: MINI Cooper S 2003
Posts: 8,110
doin stock GTR/GTX turbo conversion normally costsaround the $5,000 mark. i cant member how much kW it puts out though.
__________________
For All your crash repair panels & lights, clear lights contact us at
PANEL HOUSE 45 RANDALL ST SLACKS CREEK QLD 4127
PHONE : 07 3808 8737 FAX : 07 3808 8735
bourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2006, 10:59 AM   #59
Rupewrecht
Administrator
 
Rupewrecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Car: AZ-1, Astina Hardtop Turbo, BJ Protege, Beetle
Posts: 16,519
Cost all depends on how you do it - GTX ECU or aftermarket, Intercooler etc

But the GTX turbo maxes out at about 130kw atw.
__________________

jdmparts.rupewrecht.com
Sourcing your not-quite-overnight parts from Japan

WRECHT--|--SLOWTEGE--|--BEETLE--|--SUBSTITUTE--|--AZ-1


Rupewrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2006, 04:35 PM   #60
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupewrecht
Cost all depends on how you do it - GTX ECU or aftermarket, Intercooler etc

But the GTX turbo maxes out at about 130kw atw.
stock set up?

standard = 105-110kW atw for $5000

modded = 140-145kW atw plus 3" exhaust ($1200) + f/m intercooler/piping ($800) + aftermarket ecu/tune ($2000)

bigger (extra psi) = 155-165kW same set-up with VJ10/GTR turbo ($????)

bigger again (more psi)= 165-185kW atw plus forged pistons ($1000) + high flow/rebuild head ($1500)

i think i'm right on most figures, climate, tune, tyres, wheels will all affect different power readings. and there's probably more mods i haven't even thought about to get those power figures.

ryan

Last edited by project.r.racing; 25-10-2006 at 05:36 PM.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Body Conversion 101 for the 1998 Mazda 323 BJ models TStar Bodykits & Exterior 0 11-03-2006 06:46 PM
Manual Conversion, is it worth it? PhatAstina Performance & General Maintenance 68 23-02-2006 09:15 PM
Need help from guys who have the BPT into BA conversion scollinguk Interior & Electrics 10 10-06-2004 01:30 PM
GTX conversion navysky51 Performance & General Maintenance 6 08-04-2004 03:38 PM
Costs for a BPT in BG conversion? kemicalx Performance & General Maintenance 7 19-02-2004 02:24 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT