Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > AstinaGT Talk > General Automotive Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2008, 08:24 PM   #1
Putonyourshoes
Senior Member
 
Putonyourshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cronulla
Car: 2L 96 BA hatch
Posts: 1,131
Random Question thread..

saw this somewhere else and thought it was a good idea, because i often have questions that i feel dont deserve their own thread but i still want to ask..
please feel free to delete this if you think its a waste of space...

anyways my 1st question..
im thinking of redoing all my suspension so that when i go to the track i can be real quick and flat through the corners.. but my worry is that i will have to go stupidly fast to get it loose in the skid pan? are my worries justified or is it just a matter of undoing the front sway bar and off i go?
cheers
Putonyourshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-08-2008, 09:45 PM   #2
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,921
if its a skid pan, then a hand break is all you need to get your car loose. the suspension won't stop that. you don't need to undo the front sway bar.

ryan
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 10:01 PM   #3
Putonyourshoes
Senior Member
 
Putonyourshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cronulla
Car: 2L 96 BA hatch
Posts: 1,131
yeah but at the moment all i need to do if lift off and i get a nice little bit of oversteer.
do you use a hydraulic handbrake?

Last edited by Putonyourshoes; 10-08-2008 at 10:03 PM. Reason: spelt something wrong
Putonyourshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 10:04 PM   #4
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,921
nope i use the normal hand brake.

if you stiffen up the suspension, the lift off oversteer will only increase.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 10:10 PM   #5
70NYD
Veni, vidi, vici
 
70NYD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: 1996 BA Hatch & 2005 RX8
Posts: 4,911
ye especially if by stiffening suspesion you shorten the vertical travel
__________________
70NYD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 10:23 PM   #6
hks_kansei
AstinaGT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: a
Car: Mondeo
Posts: 344
skidpans are soo fun.

I'm doing a motorkhana at deca in October............. assuming my car survives Winton in September.
__________________

71.3kw@5341rpm - 394.4nm@3968rpm - Protek Dyno.
2000 Mazda MX5
hks_kansei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:31 AM   #7
Putonyourshoes
Senior Member
 
Putonyourshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cronulla
Car: 2L 96 BA hatch
Posts: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by project.r.racing View Post
nope i use the normal hand brake.

if you stiffen up the suspension, the lift off oversteer will only increase.
ahhhh thats what i was after. cheers mate.
for some reason i thought stiffening up the suspension would make the weight shift less, which in turn kept it planted. cheers mate
Putonyourshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 08:27 PM   #8
phly
AstinaGT Regular
 
phly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney
Car: 97 BA Astina Hatchback
Posts: 384
ive got a random quick question

do i need a wheel alignment after installing any of the following
- rear sway bar
- front/rear strut brace
- new clutch and flywheel

if i dont need wheel alignments after installing these i think ill do them one by one to try feel the difference, otherwise theyre all going in at the same time to save some wheel alignment money LOL
phly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 09:03 PM   #9
Putonyourshoes
Senior Member
 
Putonyourshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cronulla
Car: 2L 96 BA hatch
Posts: 1,131
i didnt get one done for sway bar/ strut braces or new clutch and when i finally got one done after putting new wheels on they said it was pretty close to perfect so no. i dont think so
Putonyourshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 09:11 PM   #10
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,921
- rear sway bar no
- front/rear strut braceno, unless installed weird
- new clutch and flywheelyes, but not urgent
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 09:36 PM   #11
phly
AstinaGT Regular
 
phly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney
Car: 97 BA Astina Hatchback
Posts: 384
thanks for the quick info guys
looking forward to picking up these mods
phly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 12:49 PM   #12
Putonyourshoes
Senior Member
 
Putonyourshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cronulla
Car: 2L 96 BA hatch
Posts: 1,131
this is a massive longshot.. but are the mazda 3 and astina coilovers similar enough to fit lol
Putonyourshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 02:43 PM   #13
bourbon
The Hairy Mod
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: southside ya'll and North Side, Brissy
Car: MINI Cooper S 2003
Posts: 8,110
im sorry but why not just buy astina coil overs??? alot easier...
__________________
For All your crash repair panels & lights, clear lights contact us at
PANEL HOUSE 45 RANDALL ST SLACKS CREEK QLD 4127
PHONE : 07 3808 8737 FAX : 07 3808 8735
bourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 02:49 PM   #14
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Putonyourshoes View Post
this is a massive longshot.. but are the mazda 3 and astina coilovers similar enough to fit lol
No. The Mazda 3 rear suspension is a very different design. The springs don't mount to the shocks they sit more inboard (similar to the Mazda 6).
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 04:54 PM   #15
Putonyourshoes
Senior Member
 
Putonyourshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cronulla
Car: 2L 96 BA hatch
Posts: 1,131
hahaha yeahh i thought so. thanks guys
yeaah im looking for some but i cant afford to dish out the cash for brand new ones
Putonyourshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 08:45 PM   #16
bourbon
The Hairy Mod
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: southside ya'll and North Side, Brissy
Car: MINI Cooper S 2003
Posts: 8,110
and mazda 3 ones would be any cheaper??? anythin you get cheap that involves coilovers is luck...most likely if their cheap its for a reason, be it there rooted or they need a rebuild...
__________________
For All your crash repair panels & lights, clear lights contact us at
PANEL HOUSE 45 RANDALL ST SLACKS CREEK QLD 4127
PHONE : 07 3808 8737 FAX : 07 3808 8735
bourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 10:16 PM   #17
LordWorm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: .
Car: .
Posts: 1,689
Car wont start.... thought it was starter related (thought might have chewed pinion gear or something)...pulled out starter, starter = fine. Works fine when provided with 12v when outside of the car (throws the pinion out, spins the gear). Teeth are all fine. When back in the car, just get a "click" then the noise of the starter spinning.....no engagement with ring gear by the sounds....

Given that the starter is 100% aok....do you reckon chewed up ring gear? I have run out of ideas.
__________________

Need parts? Contact sales@b3motorsports.com
LordWorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2008, 11:03 AM   #18
Plutonus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sydney, NSW
Car: Traitor vehicle
Posts: 778
I have one!

Why do car manufacturers choose one bulb type of another? Like our astina's had H3 and H1, then later on they switched to both H1. Is there any advantage to the different types? Obviously H4 is so they only need one bulb.
__________________
Plutonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2008, 07:44 PM   #19
Putonyourshoes
Senior Member
 
Putonyourshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cronulla
Car: 2L 96 BA hatch
Posts: 1,131
sorry pluto cant help you there
but..
how comfortable are eibachs?
and what the hell are the backetball looking things for on powerlines?
Putonyourshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2008, 08:52 PM   #20
Plutonus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sydney, NSW
Car: Traitor vehicle
Posts: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Putonyourshoes View Post
sorry pluto cant help you there
but..
how comfortable are eibachs?
I've seen a few people say they are the best compromise between handling and comfort... but they're the only ones besides stock I've had so I wouldn't know . They aren't that harsh, and it only took me like a couple of days to get used to the difference.
__________________
Plutonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT