Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Old 26-02-2005, 02:09 AM   #1
deruss

Car: 1994 BA Astina 1.8
ABOUT: Origins of BPT motor

Ok, so I'm thinking more seriously about planting a BPT in my BA. But I have some holes in my knowledge about it all, starting with a very basic question...

Where do BP Turbo motors come from? So far I know of :
Jap - BG (Familia) GTR (154Kw) (also known as BPD ?)
Jap - Familia(BG) GTX (134Kw)
Aus - Laser KF-KH TX3 Turbo / TX3 4WD
Are there others?

Is the GTX motor equivilant to the TX3Turbo motor (other than the ECU)?

I know that the JSpec ECU is better than ASpec ECU, but do the GTX and GTR share same ECU?

Do all these cars come with factory intercooler? What size/s?

I see a few ppl have put in mx6 KLZE motor. Is this realistic only for astinas that came with KFZE? Was there an Aussie Astina with KFZE?

I'm thinking that if I can't find a halfcut at right price, maybe I can pick up all parts seperately. But I'm unsure of all parts I need. I know to pick up ECU + loom, and Air flow meter, but what else?

Sorry to ask so many questions in one post, but any help with this basic info would be great, thanks.
deruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 26-02-2005, 09:07 AM   #2
Dogo

Car: Mazda 323 BA BPT transplant
the americans also get a 323 with the gtx. not sure if thats just a familia or something else.
but ive seen a lot of them on 323gtx.co.uk and mazda323performance.com

the japspec ecu is better but its not a huge gain. and you will ALWAYS have to use petrol with a high RON else you'll detonate. The jap ecu is designed for jap petrol which is 100 RON. 98 is as high as we get in aus.

they do come with a factory intercooler but if you're doing the upgrade dont bother with it, get a nive new big cooler. dont know the stock size buts its small.

gtx and gtr are different ecus. and the hang-ons are different too.