Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > AstinaGT Talk > Introduce yourself

Old 21-05-2013, 11:46 AM   #1
rolly

Car: Hirsch SAAB, Clio RS, Lantis R
Lantis Type R for a new race series

Hi all,

I'm new to Mazdas as I am a euro fan boy at heart. I have recently purchased a 94 Lantis Type R to run as a daily driver and compete in a new series starting here in NZ called the 2kcup.http://www.2kcup.com

The idea is to keep the car factory standard and see if it will last 33minutes at a time!

I purchased her sight unseen far away and ended up with a bit of a pup. Water Pump is stuffed, chassis rails need repair and CV boot is gone. I'm still hoever, going forward with the project.

Anyways I have been trolling a little bit around to try and pick up what I can about these cars and your site has been most helpful.

Rupe's for sale page has given me JDM envy. All I can say is that I am glad that I have to keep the spend as low as possible. The series can buy the car for 2.5k if they feel it has been developed.

I have a whole bunch of parts comming to get the engine operational and a set of 15" wheels which I am tidying up so I can run the tyres off my Clio.

Things I will need your guys advice on are:

1) What pads are out there to run in the standard brake calipers given the races will typically be 20 odd laps and no brake ducting is allowed (std non slotted discs too).

2) What are the mazdaspeed adj damping shocks like? Are they anymore suitable to track work than std shocks?

Last edited by rolly; 21-05-2013 at 05:11 PM.
rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 21-05-2013, 12:47 PM   #2
Noble323
E74A

Car: SP20
!! Welcome To AstinaGT !!
Noble323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2013, 02:33 PM   #3
project.r.racing

Car: n/a
Pretty crazy series having 1 hour races with only pads and springs as safety upgrades.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2013, 04:44 PM   #4
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke

Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch